Welcome to Local Authority News


Silver Hat trick for South Dublin County Council nominees in the All Ireland Community and Council Awards.

L to R : Tommy Keogh, Clondalkin Tidy Towns, Cllr. Vicki Casserly, Cllr Sean Conlon, LAMA Representative, Monaghan County Council, Cllr. Deirdre O'Donovan, Cllr. Emer Higgins, Cllr. Liona O'Toole accepting silver award for Best Heritage project - The Round Tower – Brú Chrónáin

Three South Dublin County Council nominees received silver awards at this year’s All Ireland Community & Council Awards presented by IPB Insurance and LAMA on Saturday 3rd February, 2018. The All Ireland Community & Council Awards ceremony took place in Croke Park Stadium to celebrate the very best in Local Government in Ireland.

The Council took a silver award in the Best Heritage Project category for The Round Tower – Brú Chrónáin, a silver award for Grange Castle Business Park in the Best Local Authority Innovation for Attracting Inward Investment category, and Tommy Keogh from Clondalkin Tidy Towns won a silver award in the Community Volunteer of the Year award category.

Mayor of South Dublin County Council, Cllr Paul Gogarty, said “I am delighted at the news that three South Dublin County Council nominees have been recognised with awards in this year’s LAMA Awards. These awards highlight and celebrate the work done within our communities by the Council and various volunteers throughout the County. The awards also recognise the unsung heroes in our community and the work that they carry out to improve the place we live and work in.”
Now in its 12th year, the 2018 All Ireland Community and Council Awards presented by IPB Insuranceand LAMArecognise and celebrate community and councils working together. They provide a great opportunity to highlight and celebrate the work done within our communities, and to recognise the phenomenal contribution they’ve made to our lives. Town, Borough, City and County Councillors across the island of Ireland nominate projects across 20 categories that demonstrate the work implemented through unique projects that enhance their local area for the good of the community.

Nominees for South Dublin County were:

Council of the Year
South Dublin County Council
Best Disability Access and Inclusion
Esker FC Football for all and Frame Football
Best Heritage Project / Initiative
The Round Tower- Brú Chrónáin
Best Local Authority Innovation for Attracting Inward Investment
Grange Castle Business Park
Best Business Working with the Community
Rays of Sunshine Pre-School
Best Community Sports Team/Club
Lucan’s Operation Transformation
Tallaght Rugby Youth Section
Community Volunteer of the Year
Ed Saddler, Active Over 55’s Clubs
Tommy Keogh, Clondalkin Tidy Towns

Latest Issues